WASHINGTON— Today, Reps. Lisa McClain (R-MI), Joe Wilson (R-SC), House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Mike Rogers (R-AL) and Jim Banks (R-IN) introduced legislation that would require sanctions on all past and future members of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP)’s National Congress and their immediate family members. The sanctions would last until the CCP ends its theft of American intellectual property, ends its genocide of Uyghur Muslims, ends its incursions into Taiwan and stops its human rights abuses in Hong Kong.

Rep. Lisa McClain said: “China is one of the biggest threats to the safety and security of the United States and the world. Sanctioning leaders of the CCP is a commonsense way to show China and the world that we are sick and tired of their aggressive, bully-like tactics.”

Rep. Joe Wilson said: “I am grateful to join this effort to require sanctions on senior CCP members for their malign behavior and human rights abuses. We must be bold if we are going to pushback against decades of the CCP taking advantage of us and oppressing the extraordinary people of China.”

House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Rep. Mike Rogers said: “The Chinese Communist Party must be held accountable for their egregious and disturbing human rights abuses. Every day that Joe Biden hesitates in holding the CCP accountable for genocide and slave labor the CCP only grows more emboldened in their campaign of evil.” 

Rep. Jim Banks said: “This collection of individuals are some of the world’s worst human rights offenders and leaders in an authoritarian, evil regime. We not only have a national security obligation, but a moral obligation, to block them from carrying out their corrupt agenda here on our shores. The Republican Study Committee is proud to lead the way in standing up to the Chinese Communist Party.” 

The Stop CCP Act would require visa blocking and asset blocking sanctions on members of the CCP’s National Congress—the highest body within the Chinese Communist Party (CCP). Sessions of the CCP’s Congress are held every 5 years making up the most senior CCP members in the country. The next meeting is scheduled to be held at the end of 2022. The bill would provide a waiver to the President if the President could certify that the CCP has ended its theft of American intellectual property, ends its genocide of Uyghur Muslims, ends its incursions into Taiwan, and stops its human rights abuses in Hong Kong. The waiver would sunset within 2 years and have to be renewed by Congress to prevent abuse by the administration.

The text of the bill can be found here.

Original cosponsors of this bill include Reps. Jim Banks (R-IN), Mike Rogers (R-AL), Joe Wilson (R-SC), Brian Babin (R-TX), Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Yvette Herrell (R-NM), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), David McKinley (R-WV), Mary Miller (R-IL), Marianette Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Steven Palazzo (R-MS), Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS) Greg Steube (R-FL), Tracey Mann (R-KS), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Madison Cawthorn (R-NC), Pete Stauber (R-MN), Kevin Hern (R-OK) and Brian Babin (R-TX).